Giro d’Italia 2022: Stages, Participants, Dates, Past Winners and Routes

Rajiv Oteh
03 May 2022

The Giro d’Italia simply means the “Tour of Italy”, this prestigious elite professional cycle racing competition dates back to 1909 with the sole aim of boosting the La Gazzetta sports newspaper. This event has gone on to be hosted annually. The Giro d’Italia is a 3 weeks sporting event, in which participants will compete through 21 stages to determine the winner. Last year’s victor ludorum Egan Bernal will not be partaking in the race due to some injury. Regardless, fans will be entertained with stiff competition from the likes of Richard Carapaz, Tom Dumoulin, Vincenzo Nibali, and Tao Geoghegan Hart locking horns in this war of cycling. 

Bet on Giro d’Italia 2022 with 1xBet
Giro d’Italia 2022
How To Watch Giro d’Italia 2022
How To Watch Giro d’Italia 2022

What to bet on?

The Giro d’Italia 2022 comes with a handful of betting opportunities. Fans of the professional cycle events can place bets with several bookmakers offering their bettors the opportunity to place bets. Study the thread below for what types of bets are available for the Giro d’Italia 2022 stages:

Winner Bet

This is the most popular bet that can be placed in the forthcoming Giro d’Italia sporting event. Users can select their preferred rider to win the entire competition.

In Top 3

In this betting market, bettors can choose the cycle rider who will end up in the top 3 on the leaderboard. This betting market is somewhat similar to the popular each-way betting market.

In Top 10

This betting market allows a bettor to place bets on any cycle rider that ends up in the top 10 positions of the leaderboard.

Bet on Giro d’Italia 2022 with 1xBet

Stage winner

Bettors need to know how many stages there are in the 2022 Giro d’Italia. 21 Giro d’Italia stages need completing before an overall champion emerges, and bettors can place their bet on a particular rider to win each of the stages.

Giro d’Italia 2022 Stages
Giro d’Italia 2022 Stages

Points winner

This betting market allows bettors to place bets on who wins the points jersey. The winner will probably be the cycle rider who gets the most points in the stage races.

Young Rider Classification

In this betting market, bettors can place their bets on any young talent in the Giro d’Italia 2022 edition. Bettors can choose any player under 25 as their best pick for this category.

Team Classification

Users can place bets on the best team they think will excel in the 2022 Giro d’Italia professional cycle racing championship.

Bet on Giro d’Italia 2022 with 1xBet

Giro d’Italia 2022 Route

Image of the Giro d’Italia 2022 route
Giro d’Italia 2022 route image

Below is a tabular representation of the Giro d’Italia 2022 Route:

12 Stars06/05/2022Budapest - Visegrad195 km
23 Stars07/05/2022Budapest - Budapest TISSOT ITT9,2 km
31 Stars08/05/2022Kaposvár - Balatonfüred201 km
44 Stars10/05/2022Avola - Etna-Nicolosi (Rif. Sapienza)172 km
52 Stars11/05/2022Catania - Messina174 km
62 Stars12/05/2022Palmi - Scalea (Riviera dei Cedri)192 km
74 Stars13/05/2022Diamante - Potenza196 km
82 Stars14/05/2022Napoli - Napoli (Procida Capitale Italiana della Cultura)153 km
95 Stars15/05/2022Isernia - Blockhaus191 km
103 Stars17/05/2022Pescara - Jesi196 km
111 Stars18/05/2022

Santarcangelo di Romagna - Reggio Emilia Parmigiano Reggiano Food Stage

203 km
123 Stars19/05/2022Parma - Genova
204 km
132 Stars20/05/2022Sanremo - Cuneo150 km
144 Stars21/05/2022Santena - Torino147 km
154 Stars22/05/2022Rivarolo Canavese - Cogne178 km
165 Stars24/05/2022Salò - Aprica (Sforzato Wine Stage)202 km
174 Stars25/05/2022Ponte di Legno - Lavarone168 km
181 Stars26/05/2022Borgo Valsugana - Treviso152 km
194 Stars27/05/2022Marano Lagunare - Santuario di Castelmonte177 km
205 Stars28/05/2022Belluno - Marmolada (Passo Fedaia)168 km
213 Stars29/05/2022Verona (Cronometro delle Colline Veronesi) - Tissot ITT17,4 km
Bet on Giro d’Italia 2022 with 1xBet

Past winners of the Giro d'Italia

Image of the Giro d’Italia 2021 winner Egan Bernal
Giro d’Italia 2021 winner Egan Bernal image

The Giro d’Italia is an elite professional cycle race competition that has been going on for so many years. This year's edition is the 105th since the Giro d’Italia was first launched. This event has gone on to produce a lot of winners. The below table is a representation of winners in the past decade:

Egan Bernal2021
Richard Carapaz2020
Tao Geoghegan2019
Chris Froome 2018
Tom Dumoulin2017
Vincenzo Nibali2016
Alberto Contador2015
Nairo Qunitana2014
Vincenzo Nibali2013
Ryder Hesjedal2012
Michele Scarponi2011


The Giro d’Italia is one of Italy’s prestigious and oldest sporting events, as earlier stated this professional cycling event dates back to 1909. The 2022 Giro d’Italia provides loads of opportunities to fans as well as bettors who have attained the legal age of betting/gambling. Bettors can place bets on a variety of bet markets such as outright winner, stage winner, in top 3 and 10, etc. In this piece, I outlined the 2022 Giro d’Italia Routes and also had a sneak peek into the past decade's winners of the prestigious professional cycle racing event.

Bet on Giro d’Italia 2022 with 1xBet


How Many Stages in Giro d’Italia?
There are 21 Giro d’Italia stages in the 105th edition of the event.
How Long does Giro d’Italia last?
The Giro d’Italia will last for 3 weeks only.
No Comments Yet! Be the first to share what you think!

Related articles