NTT Com, Telstra and SKT win Asia's top telecom prizes

Telecom Asia
18 Apr 2013

Kuala Lumpur, April 18, 2013 – Japan's NTT Communications won top honors in the 16th Telecom Asia Awards last night, taking home both the Best Asian Telecom Carrier (Best of the Best) award and Best Cloud-based Service prize. The company was nominated in four categories by the panel of 24 judges.

A total of 13 awards were presented to 12 winners at a gala dinner in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday night.

Telstra CEO David Thodey was voted Telecom CEO of the Year for creating innovation in a large-market incumbent and for what one judge said "being the turnaround king".

South Korea's SK Telecom picked up the Best Mobile Carrier award for the second year running while Telekom Malaysia also was named Best Broadband Carrier for second time. XL Axiata claimed the Best Emerging Markets Carrier award for demonstrating sustainable business models and growth in a very competitive market.

Philippines mobile operators won the two project-based awards: Smart Communications' NOAH Mobile was recognized at the Best Community Telecom Project while Globe Telecom's My SuperPlan was the Most Innovative Telecom Project.

Three new categories were added this year. Hong Kong's 3 won the Most Innovative Partnership Strategy award for its partnership with WhatsApp, CSL was recognized for having the Most Advanced Approach to CEM and Equinix was voted Best Data Center Services Provider.

BT Global Services and Pacnet also were repeat winners in the Best Managed Services Provider and Best International Wholesale Carrier categories respectively.

Now in its 16th year, the awards are the region’s longest-running and most prestigious telecom industry awards. They reward innovative and outstanding performance by Asian service providers and industry executives. The awards were held in conjunction with Telecom Asia's Telco Strategies conference. The theme for 2013 was "At the crossroads: Innovation strategies to profit in the digital world."

The Telecom Asia Awards selection is made by an independent panel of industry experts, who cast votes on the basis of innovation, financial performance, technology, market leadership and corporate governance.

The judging is conducted over two rounds, and the methodology varies slightly between segments. In the first round, the 24 judges nominate their best performers in each category (except Wholesale and Managed Services), where the candidates are asked to submit nominations. In the second round, the judges cast their votes on the shortlist of finalists, which is determined by Telecom Asia editors based on the nominations (both those from the judging panel and self-nominations).

Telecom Asia Awards 2013 Winners:
Best Asian Telecom Carrier
NTT Communications

Telecom CEO of the Year
David Thodey, Telstra

Best Mobile Carrier
SK Telecom

Best Broadband Carrier
Telekom Malaysia

Best Emerging Markets Carrier
XL Axiata

Best Data Center Services Provider

Best Community Telecom Project
Smart Communications' NOAH Mobile

Most Innovative Telecom Project
Globe Telecom's My Superplan

Best Cloud-Based Service
NTT Communications

Most Innovative Partnership Strategy
3 Hong Kong and WhatsApp

Most Advanced Approach to CEM

Best Managed Services Provider
BT Global Services

Best International Wholesale Carrier

About Telecom Asia
Telecom Asia is Asia's largest regional telecom publishing group. Its products include Telecom Asia magazine, and a range of industry-specific supplements aimed at telecommunications professionals around the region.

Further information:
Joseph Waring
Group Editor
Telecom Asia,,
Phone: +852 2589 1389
Email: [email protected]

Related content

Follow Telecom Asia Sport!
No Comments Yet! Be the first to share what you think!
This website uses cookies
This provides customers with a personalized experience and increases the efficiency of visiting the site, allowing us to provide the most efficient service. By using the website and accepting the terms of the policy, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with the terms of this policy.