Telecom Asia announces shortlist for 10th Readers' Choice & Innovation Awards

Telecom Asia
06 Sep 2017

Hong Kong, September 06, 2017 – Telecom Asia has announced the finalists for its 10th Readers’ Choice & Innovation Awards, and voting is now open to its online subscriber base of service providers across Asia. The editors of Telecom Asia narrowed down nominations in 21 categories to a shortlist of 90, representing 48 companies.

Leading the list of finalists this year is ZTE, with nominations in 10 categories. Following close behind is Huawei Technologies with nominations in nine categories. Nokia and Ericsson secured five nominations each, while Ixia has four and Cisco three.

Now in its tenth year, the awards program continues its heavy emphasis on innovation. The word “Innovation” in the titles of select awards reflects the increased efforts suppliers have made to ensure their products and services help telcos find new ways to partner, test new business models and compete in the digital economy.

This year we’ve renamed the Future TV Innovation of the Year category to OTT Innovation of the Year to expand this category to cover innovations for other OTT apps and services such as messaging and music.

Voting for Asia’s best technology providers will close on September 22. The winners will be announced at the Readers' Choice & Innovation Awards ceremony in Singapore on November 16.
Telecom Asia organizes the awards each year to recognize the technology innovations and accomplishments of the top telecom vendors operating in Asia Pacific.

To cast your vote, follow this link.

Readers' Choice & Innovation Awards 2017 Shortlist
1. LTE Innovation of the Year

  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei Massive MIMO
  • Ruckus Wireless, Ruckus OpenG LTE
  • Qualcomm, Snapdragon X16 LTE modem (Gigabit class LTE modem)
  • ZTE, X-Site solution

2. VoLTE Innovation of the Year

  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei Enhanced VoLTE Solution
  • Mavenir, Cloud-based Rich Communication Services (RCS) Platform
  • Radisys, MediaEngine Virtualized Transcode Resource Function (vTRF)
  • Spirent Communications, Spirent Umetrix Voice platform (Nomad)

3. Small-cell Innovation of the Year

  • Casa Systems, Apex Ultra-Broadband small cells
  • Comba Telecom, Scalable Heterogeneous Network Solution
  • Huawei Technologies, LampSite 3.0
  • Radisys, CellEngine 5G radio access network (RAN) Version 1.0 software

4. Cloud Innovation of the Year

  • Ericsson, Ericsson Network Manager in as a service model
  • Fortinet, Fortinet VM On-Demand
  • Ixia, Ixia CloudLens
  • Nokia, Nokia CloudBand

5. SDN Innovation of the Year

  • Ciena's Blue Planet, Blue Planet Manage, Control and Plan (MCP)
  • Nuage Networks (Nokia), Virtualized Network Services (VNS)
  • Silver Peak Systems, Unity EdgeConnectSP SDWAN solution
  • ZTE, ZTE Elastic SD-WAN Solution

6. NFV Innovation of the Year

  • Cisco Systems - Enhanced SDN and NFV Platform for multi-vendor, multi-domain innovation in Telco Networks
  • Ericsson, Network Functions Virtualization infrastructure (NFVi) solution
  • Huawei Technologies, All-Cloud Core Network
  • Ruckus Wireless, Ruckus Virtual SmartZone – Dataplane
  • ZTE, ZTE vBRAS Solution

7. 5G Innovation of the Year

  • Cisco Systems, Cisco Network Segment Routing for 5G
  • Ericsson, Ericsson 5G Core System
  • Huawei Technologies, 5G New Radio and New Use Cases with Verification
  • Nokia, Nokia 5G First
  • ZTE, ZTE 5G Sliced-transport key technology innovation - FlexE Tunnel

8. Fixed Broadband Innovation of the Year

  • Calix, AXOS Subscriber Management Module
  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei SmartAX MA5818 Multi-service Access Module
  • Nokia, Nokia Universal Next-Generation PON (NG-PON)

9. Analytics Innovation of the Year

  • Ciena's Blue Planet, Blue Planet Analytics
  • GENBAND, GENView Analytics
  • Netscout Systems, InfiniStreamNG analytics platform
  • Sigma Systems, Sigma Insights

10. CEM Innovation of the Year

  • Comarch, Loyalty Management Version 5.3
  • Comptel (a Nokia company), Fastermind
  • Ericsson, Ericsson Expert Analytics Release 16.1

11. Network Optimization Innovation of the Year

  • AirHop Communications, eSON360
  • InfoVista, VistaGo (a cloud-based managed service assurance platform)
  • Ixia, Net Tool Optimizer (NTO) portfolio of network visibility solutions
  • Nokia, Nokia FP4 2.4 Tb/s network processor
  • Cisco, Self Optimizing Networks (SON)

12. Optical Network Innovation of the Year

  • Calix, AXOS E3-2 Intelligent PON Node
  • Ciena, WaveLogic Ai
  • CommScope, LazrSPEED WideBand OM5
  • Infinera, 5G-ready Mobile Fronthaul Solution
  • ZTE, ZXONE 9700

13. OSS Innovation of the Year

  • Dimetis, OpsNGN next-generation OSS orchestration platform
  • Netcracker Technology, Cloud-Based Online Charging System (OCS)
  • Openet, Telco as a Service (previously known as Digital Enterprise Solutions for Wholesale).

14. BSS Innovation of the Year

  • CSG International, Wholesale Business Management Solution - Software-as-a-Service Model (WBMS SaaS)
  • Fortumo, Bundling Platform for digital content merchants
  • Netcracker Technology, Customer Billing Management solution
  • Oracle, Oracle Monetization Cloud
  • Sterlite Technologies, LTE Revenue & Customer Management

15. Data Center Innovation of the Year

  • Ciena, Waveserver Ai
  • Infinera, Infinera Cloud Xpress 2
  • Juniper Networks, Open Cloud Interconnect Solution
  • ZTE, ZTE SDN based vDC Solution

16. Test & Measurement Innovation of the Year

  • EXFO, Fronthaul Test Kit with Optical RF
  • Ixia, IxLoad LTE XAir2 emulation tester
  • Netscout Systems, AirCheck G2 v1.1.0
  • Spirent Communications, Spirent Landslide C100-M2 test platform
  • Viavi Solutions, OTN-603 400G Tester

17. Telecoms Security Innovation of the Year

  • 6WIND, Next Generation Security Gateway (SeGW) solution
  • Fortinet, FortiGate-7000 series
  • Gigamon, Metadata Engine for GigaSECURE Security Delivery Platform
  • Ixia, Ixia BreakingPoint

18. Video Platform Innovation of the Year

  • Harmonic, EyeQ real-time video compression optimization solution
  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei Envision
  • Openwave Mobility, Video Traffic Manager
  • ZTE, BigVideo Premium Video Platform solution

19. OTT Innovation of the Year

  • Harmonic, VOS
  • Ooyala, Ooyala AppStudio turnkey over-the-top (OTT) solution
  • Teleossco Software Pvt. Ltd., Teleoss OTT Messaging Gateway
  • Verimatrix, MultiRights OTT Plus

20. IoT/M2M Solution Innovation of the Year

  • Ericsson, Connected Vehicle Marketplace
  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei OceanConnect IoT Platform
  • NEC, IoT Service Enabler
  • Nokia, Nokia IMPACT IoT platform
  • ZTE, ZTE Smart Parking Product

21. Smart City Innovation of the Year

  • Hitachi Insight Group, Hitachi Video Analytics (HVA) for Smart Cities
  • Huawei Technologies, Huawei Smart City Solutions
  • ST Electronics, World of IoT – Sense & eXchange (WISX IoT) platform
  • Sterlite Technologies, Smart City Solutions Platform
  • ZTE, LPWAN-based Smart Street 2.0 solution

About Telecom Asia
Telecom Asia is Asia's largest regional telecom publishing group. It publishes the magazine Telecom Asia and the website, aimed at telecommunications professionals around the region. Combined, these titles serve more than 100,000 subscribers.

For more information contact:
Stefan Hammond
Managing Editor
Telecom Asia,
Email: [email protected]

Follow us:

Related content

Follow Telecom Asia Sport!
No Comments Yet! Be the first to share what you think!
This website uses cookies
This provides customers with a personalized experience and increases the efficiency of visiting the site, allowing us to provide the most efficient service. By using the website and accepting the terms of the policy, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with the terms of this policy.