Top 15 Most ballon d'or winners in 2024

Alisa Barladyan
19 Feb 2024

The Ballon d'Or means the Golden Ball, and it is an individual award that honors the male football player deemed by vote to have the best performance over the previous year. The idea of this award presentation began in 1956 by the French news magazine, France Football and has since grown to become one of the most prestigious individual football player awards in the world. Between 2010 and 2015, it was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year and named the FIFA Ballon d'Or. From 2024 however, it will be co organized by UEFA. 

Bet on football with 1xBet
Ballon d’Or all Winners
Ballon d’Or Winner List

Since 1956 till 2023, a total of sixty-four (64) players have been honored with this outstanding award. Most notably, some players have won it only once and others multiple times. Arguably, some of the best players the world has ever known have never won it. It's therefore interesting to find out who are the players with most Ballon D'or awards? Or maybe, which player has the most individual awards in football? Before then, how are the potential Ballon D or winners list selected?

How Players are Voted?

To decide the nominees and eventual winner of the Ballon d'Or, firstly, one hundred (100) journalists from around the world are chosen. Each of these journalists represent a different country among the top-ranked FIFA nations. These individuals are then given a shortlist of 30 football players and tasked to choose only five of them in descending order of merit. As the numbers are cut down by these selections, the player with the most Ballon D'or points, ultimately wins the award.

When is Ballon D'or Awarded?

The event is typically held at the last quarter of every year at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, France. This year, it will be held on Monday, 28 October 2024.

Bet on football with 1xBet

Looking at the top Ballon d'Or winners, we find a total of 64 winners. However, there are only a total of ten players that have won the award more than once. Here are the top 10 Ballon d'Or winners.

PlayerNo. of Ballons d'OrYear of receipt
Lionel Messi82009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021 and 2023
Cristiano Ronaldo 52008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017
Michel Platini31983, 1984 and 1985
Johan Cruyff31971, 1973 and 1974
Marco Van Basten31988, 1989 and 1992
Franz Becker Bauer21972 and 1976
Ronaldo Nazario21997 and 2002
Alfredo Di Stefano21957 and 1959
Kevin Keegan21978 and 1979
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge21980 and 1981
Lionel Messi Ballon d’Or
Ballon d Or Winners Messi

Lionel Andres Messi became the third youngest player to win the Ballon d'Or in 2009 at 22 years, 5 months 7 days old. Making his debut for Barcelona in October 2004 at 17 years of age, it took him just five years to climb to the top of the football pyramid as a highly talented player. There was no doubting his ability, and it wasn't long before he proved it wasn't a fluke.

Messi became only the fifth player to win the Ballon d'Or consecutively when he picked it up again in 2010, and then made it a hat-trick in 2011, becoming only the second player in the world to do so after Michel Platini of France. Well, he wasn't done. In 2012, the Argentine made history by winning his 4th Ballon d'Or. His consecutive quartet of Ballons d'Or stands him out as the first and only player till date ever to achieve that milestone.

Within the following 13 years, Messi has doubled his Ballon d'Or awards cabinet by winning four more in 2015, 2019, 2021 and the latest being in 2023.

How many Ballon D'or does Messi have? A total of eight awards, and here is the data

Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2009
Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2010
Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2011
Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2012
Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2015
Lionel MessiBarcelona FC2019
Lionel MessiParis Saint-Germain2021
Lionel MessiInter Miami FC2023
Bet on football with 1xBet

How Many Ballons d’Or has Cristiano Ronaldo Won?

Cristiano Ronaldo Ballon D’Or
Ronaldo Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo was first awarded the Ballon d'Or in 2008 at age 23. He was at the top of his game with Manchester United under the tutelage of Sir Alex Ferguson winning three Premier League titles in a row, and the UEFA Champions League. Undeniably, one of the best in the world, he moved to Real Madrid for a then world record fee of 94 million Euros.

Rivaling Lionel Messi in Spain on every club level and also in the international scene, Ronaldo scooped the Ballon d'Or award twice in a row, in 2013 and 2014. The were the seasons he won the Champions League, Copa del Rey, the European Super Cup, and Club World Cup with Los Blancos.

Ronaldo repeated the feat again in 2016 and 2017, by winning a brace of Ballon d'Or awards. Not only that, still with the Spanish club, he again won the La Liga, the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup and got a third place runners up medal with Portugal at the FIFA Confederations Cup.

How many Ballon d'Or does Ronaldo have? A total of five awards, and here is the data.

Cristiano RonaldoManchester United2008
Real Madrid FC2013
Real Madrid FC2014
Real Madrid FC2016
Real Madrid FC2017

Who Has Won The Most Women’s Ballon d’Or Titles?

Ballon d’Or Most Women Titles
Ballon d’Or Women

The most Golden Ball winner for women goes to just a single player, Alexia Putellas, who has won it twice. Unlike the men's award, which started in 1956, the first award for female players began in 2018. There have been a total of four winners altogether.

PlayerNo. of Ballons d'OrYear of receipt
Aitana Bonmati12023
Alexia Putellas22021, 2022
Megan Rapinoe12019
Ada Hegerberg12018

Based on current form alone, here are the top ten players today:

  • Jude Bellingham;
  • Erling Haaland;
  • Harry Kane;
  • Mohamed Salah;
  • Kylian Mbappe;
  • Cristiano Ronaldo;
  • Lionel Messi;
  • Rodri;
  • Lautaro Martinez;
  • Victor Osihemen
Ballon d’Or Best Male Players
Ballon d’Or Best Players
Bet on football with 1xBet

I'm 2024, there are strong contenders to make the Ballon d'Or list. The likes of Neymar, Kylian Mbappe and Haaland are hot on the heels of Messi and Ronaldo. It doesn't matter who is the highest Ballon d'Or winner, who has the most Ballon d'Or, no of Ballon d'Or won by Ronaldo, number of Ballon d'Or won by Messi or who among these two is the most famous FIFA player. All that matter is form, achievements and impact of players which reflect on the overall team performance.


Who won the most Ballon d'Or?
Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d'Or the most.
Who are the most Ballon d'Or winners?
Messi with 8 awards and Ronaldo with 5 are the ones who have won the Ballon d'Or the most.
What is Messi's Ballon d'Or total?
Messi has eight Ballon d'Or awards.
How many times has Ronaldo won the Ballon d'Or?
Ronaldo has won five Ballon d'Or awards.
How many Ballon d'Or Neymar have?
Neymar does not have any Ballon d'Or awards. But he has been nominated nine (9) times.
Who among these two is the most famous FIFA player?
Both Messi and Ronaldo are the most famous player in the world today. They have been so for almost two decades.
Most Ballon d'Or winners list/Ballon d'Or most winners?
Those who have won the Balloon d'Or the most are: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff, Marco Van Basten, Franz Becker Bauer, Ronaldo Nazario, Alfredo Di Stefano, Kevin Keegan and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.
Who has the most Ballon d'Or points?
The player with the most points is obviously the player who has won it the most. That is Lionel Messi, with 4,430 points.
No Comments Yet! Be the first to share what you think!

Related articles

This website uses cookies
This provides customers with a personalized experience and increases the efficiency of visiting the site, allowing us to provide the most efficient service. By using the website and accepting the terms of the policy, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with the terms of this policy.