Heads of AsiaSat and JAXA honored at APSCC Awards

28 Sep 2006

Peter Jackson, CEO of Asia Satellite Telecommunications Co. Ltd. (AsiaSat), was voted the "Satellite Executive of the Year in Asia Pacific" by the Asia-Pacific Satellite Communications Council (APSCC) at the 2006 APSCC Awards Ceremony held in Seoul, Korea last September 27.

At the same ceremony, Dr Keiji Tachikawa, president of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) received a "Lifetime Achievement Award" for outstanding achievements that have helped shape the future of the space-related industries of the Asia-Pacific region.

The APSCC Awards Selection Committee, which voted for this award, consisted of the president, executive director and representatives from the board of directors of APSCC.

APSCC members include private and public companies, government ministries and agencies, and academic and research entities from the satellite and space-related sectors.

The "Satellite Executive of the Year in Asia Pacific" award is given to an individual who has greatly contributed in promoting the satellite industry in the Asia Pacific, and has introduced new satellite-related technologies or services to the region.

The individual also has to be a leader who has implemented regional and international cooperation in the satellite industry, as well as an active executive of a company primarily doing business in the Asia Pacific.

Related content

No Comments Yet! Be the first to share what you think!