Telecom Career: China Telecom names new chair after ex-boss quits amid probe

Staff writer

China Telecom Group, the parent company of China Telecom Limited, has appointed a new chairman after its former chairman resigned amid an investigation last year.

Yang Jie, current COO and president of China Telecom Limited, was appointed as chairman and party committee chief of the group, according to a company statement issued last week.

Yang replaces Chang Xiaobing, who resigned after being detained on suspicion of “severe disciplinary violations” in December. Investigating authority the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection has not released the final results of the probe yet.

Chang joined China Telecom as CEO in August from China Unicom, as a result of a management reshuffle at China’s three telcos. He was investigated mainly for corruption charges during his career in Unicom, according to anonymous industry insiders.

Previously Yang was general manager of China Telecom Group. He is replaced by former vice general manager Yang Xiaowei, who was also appointed as deputy chief of party committee of the group.

Apart from his roles as COO and president, Yang Jie has also been acting as interim chairman and CEO at the listed arm since December after Chang’s resignation.

Yang Xiaowei, a senior engineer, is currently an executive director and executive vice president at China Telecom Limited.

Former AMP CEO Craig Dunn joins Telstra board

Telstra has appointed former Craig Dunn as a non-executive director.

Dunn, 52, is a highly regarded business leader with more than 20 years of experience in financial services, pan-Asian business activities and strategic advice for government and major companies.

Dunn was CEO and MD of AMP from 2008 to 2013. Prior to that, he was previously at Colonial Mutual Group from 1991 to 2000, after he left KPMG, where he served from 1985 to 1991 with audit and consulting roles in Australia, Europe and Indonesia.

Dunn will stand for election by shareholders at Telstra’s annual general meeting in October.

Following Dunn’s appointment, the Telstra board will comprise 11 directors: chairman Catherine Livingstone AO, CEO Andrew Penn and directors Craig Dunn, Peter Hearl, Russell Higgins AO, Chin Hu Lim, John Mullen, Nora Scheinkestel, Margaret Seale, Steven Vamos and Trae Vassallo.

As previously announced, Livingstone will soon hand over to Mullen as chairman and retire from the board.


5G and data center-friendly network architectures

Matt Walker / MTN Consulting

Webscale and transmission network operators' interests are aligning as the 5G era dawns

Matt Walker / MTN Consulting

Webscale and transmission network operators' interests are aligning as the 5G era dawns

Rémy Pascal / Analysys Mason

The launch of 5G by South Korean operators serves as a first benchmark for other operators around the world